Martin N. Wybourne

Academic Appointments
  • Francis and Mildred Sears Professor of Physics, Emeritus

  • Fellow, The Institute of Physics


Shattuck, Room 103


Physics and Astronomy


  • B.Sc. (1st Class Hons.) University of Nottingham (1976)
  • Ph.D. University of Nottingham (1980)
  • D.Sc. University of Nottingham (2007)

Selected Publications

  • Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske, Stephen M. Goodnick, Martin N. Wybourne: Nanoelectronics - Beyond CMOS Computing.  IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine, Vol. 15, Issue 6, Dec. 2021.  [Guest Editors].  DOI: 10.1109/MNANO.2021.3113189

  • Norihiko Nishiguchi and Martin N. Wybourne: Phonon modes in a Möbius band.  J. Phys. Commun. 085002 (2018).

  • N. Nishiguchi and M.N. Wybourne: Effects of Breathing Mode Phonons on the Transport Properties of a Single Electron Transistor. J. Phys: Condens. Matter. 22  065301(2010).

  • Wybourne, M N, M F Austin, and C C Palmer, "National Cyber Security Research and Development Challenges Related to Economics, Physical Infrastructure and Human Behavior," A report to the Chairman and Ranking Member of the US Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs , (February 2009).

+ View more

Selected Works & Activities

  • Dartmouth Administration:

    Senior Vice Provost for Research (2014 – 2017)
    Interim Provost (2012 – 2014)
    Vice Provost for Research (2004 – 2014)
    Associate Dean of the Faculty for the Sciences (2001 – 2004)


  • Chair, Institute for Information Infrastructure Protection (I3P) (2003-2015).  Chair Emeritus (2015-)

    Editorial Board Member - International Journal of Critical Infrastructure Protection, Elsevier.

  • IEEE Nanotechnology Council: Nanoelectronics Technical Committee (NTC TC-6).  Member (2003 – 2016)  Co-Chair (2017-2019).

    2018 IEEE Nanotechnology Materials and Devices Conference, Portland, Oregon.  Special Sessions Co-Chair.